null DMC Fall 2021 Activities Awards
Warning! Your browser is extremely outdated and not web standards compliant.
Your browsing experience would greatly improve by upgrading to a modern browser.
Admissions Inquiry Make a Gift Contact Us

DMC Fall 2021 Activities Awards

November 23, 2021
facebook sharing button
twitter sharing button
email sharing button

DMC Fall 2021 Activities Awards

Congratulations to our Fall athletes and fine arts members on outstanding seasons! Our big highlights include both the boys and Girls Cross Country teams winning Conference and qualifying for State. Cross Country runner Aaron Fynaardt won the Boys State Meet and the Competition Cheer team also won State for the second year in a row. The Volleyball team qualified for State for the first time in school history, and the Marching Band received its highest ever rating in the State competition.


Cross Country

Team State

Boys and Girls Team Qualifiers - Class 2A State XC Meet

All-State Selections

Academic Senior All-State — Iowa High School Track & Field + Cross Country (IATC)

Carson Houg (‘22), Ali Pieper (‘22)

Elite All-State — Iowa Track & Field Coaches Association (IATC)

Placed in the top 15 overall (all classes) at the Iowa Cross Country State Meet
Aaron Fynaardt (‘23)

All-State — Iowa Track & Field Coaches Association (IATC)

Aaron Fynaardt (‘23), Carson Houg (‘22)

Individual State Qualifiers

Aaron Fynaardt (‘23), Gabby Grove (‘25), Carson Houg (‘22), Collin Houg (‘24), Ella Jicinsky (‘24), Reagan Zimmer (‘25)

Coach of the Year

Class 2A At Large Boys State Coach of the Year

Andrew Hamer

State Champions

Class 2A Boys Champion

Aaron Fynaardt (‘23)

Middle School State Champion

Caleb Ten Pas (‘26)


1st Team All-Conference

Aaron Fynaardt (‘23), Carson Houg (‘22), Collin Houg (‘24), Reagan Zimmer (‘25)

2nd Team All-Conference

Gabby Grove (‘25), Ella Jicinsky (‘24)



Academic All-State Iowa Football Coaches Association (IFCA)

Aiden Dogic (‘22), Caleb Mull (‘22), Jacob Rosno (‘22), Joshua Shank (‘22), Jacob Weissenburger (‘22)


Academic All-District

Isaac Bailey (‘22), Aiden Dogic (‘22), Alexander Evans (‘23), Owen Fadden (‘23), Luke Fisher (‘23), Tyler Martin (‘23), Caleb Mull (‘22), Dutch Phillips (‘23), Jacob Rosno (‘22), Joshua Shank ('22), Jacob Weissenburger (‘22)

1st Team All-District — Offense

Josh Shank (‘22) - RB

1st Team All-District — Defense

Jacob Rosno (‘22) - LB

2nd Team All-District — Offense

Owen Fadden (‘23) - WR, Carsen Theis (‘23) - WR, Joel Bayens (‘23) - OL

2nd Team All-District  — Defense

Owen Elam (‘23) - DL, Owen Schlapkohl (‘24) - DB, Carsen Theis (‘23) - P

Honorable Mention All-District

Logan Soppe (‘24) - OL, Noah Walles (‘22) - OL, Gavin Phillips (‘23) - UT, Isaac Bailey (‘22) - OL 


Team State

State Qualifiers and Regional Champions - Class 3A Volleyball

Senior All-Star Classic Team Selection

Emma Cross (‘22)


1st Team

Gabby Lombardi (‘24)

2nd Team

Olivia Lombardi (‘23)

3rd Team

Emma Cross (‘22)

Honorable Mention

Maren Miller (‘23)


Emma Cross (‘22), Gabby Lombardi (‘24), Olivia Lombardi (‘23), Maren Miller (‘23) 


1st Team

Emma Cross (‘22) (unanimous), Olivia Lombardi (‘23), Gabby Lombardi (‘24), Allie Lundberg (‘22)

2nd Team

Maren Miller (‘23), Finley Schelhaas (‘24)

Honorable Mention

Ashlyn Bakke (‘22), Blayne Ingram (‘22)

Coach of the Year

Central District Coach of the Year

Matt Thompson

WCAC Coach of the Year

Matt Thompson


State Champions 

2A Cheer/Dance Division Team State Champion       

Girls Swimming

State Qualifier

Izzy Osborne (200 Medley Relay, 50 Freestyle, 200 Free Relay) 

Fine Arts

Marching Band

State Marching Band

Division I rating Class 2A

Conference Honor Band

Joe Brehm (‘22), Valerie Busch (‘24), Kiana Dotson (‘23), Ethan Evans (‘25), Mari Florez (‘25), Evan Fopma (‘25), Aaron Fynaardt (‘23), Ian Hagenberg (‘23), Ethan Kratochvil (‘25), Carter Morrow (‘23), Ben Nyberg (‘25), Robert Oliver (‘24), Charlie Olsen (‘23), Kiersten Steensen (‘25), Billy Varble (‘22), Samantha Wright (‘23)